Basic Terms of Shinto 神道基本用語集

詳細表示 (Complete Article)

Text Ritsu is the ancient penal code. Violations of the ryô (laws), kyaku (temporary laws), or shiki (detailed regulations based on the ryô), were punished in accordance with the ritsu. The first ritsu was compiled in six volumes together with the Taihôryô in eleven volumes in 701. The oldest extant ritsu, in ten volumes, was compiled in 718.

Ryô was the basic premodern law, comparable to the constitution of today. The first ryô was the Ômiryô (22 volumes), compiled in 662 during the reign of Emperor Tenchi. The next was the Taihôryô (11 volumes), compiled in 701 during the reign of Emperor Mommu. The next was the Yôrôryô (10 volumes), compiled in 718 during the reign of Empress Genshô, which is extant. The Jingiryô, laws concerning the gods, are regulations related to imperial coronation ceremonies as well as major annual festivals.