Encyclopedia of Shinto

詳細表示 (Complete Article)

カテゴリー1: 9. Texts and Sources
カテゴリー2: Other Basic Texts
Text (Suzuki Masayuki)
Five volumes. It is also called Shidaionsho (The Book of the Four Great Obligations). Written by Suzuki Masayuki (1837-71), a kokugaku scholar active during the period spanning the end of Bakufu and continuing after the Meiji Restoration, it was finished in 1867. This text does not focus on the origins of Shintō but, rather, it explains the concepts of the true nature of kokoro (heart/mind, shinsei), lord and parent (kunshin), heaven and earth (tenchi), and source (izumi). The book is essential for understanding the thought of Masayuki. The "four great obligations" are the obligations to kami (shin'on), to parents, to one's sovereign, and to the country. With reference to Motoori Norinaga's theory of Naobi no kami, Masayuki developed his own theory of creation, where he preaches that the bestow by Amatsukami is one in which the sovereign executes the will of Amatsukami and the subjects respond to that will by devoting themselves to their work. The abridged translation by Koyasu Nobukuni is included in Nihon no meicho (The Classics of Japan) in the volume on Hirata Atsutane, Satō Nobuhiro, and Suzuki Masayuki (1972, Chūōkōronsha). The full text is included in Shintō taikei (Compendium of Shintō), Ronsetsu-hen (Editorials), Shoke Shintō (Shintō schools), First volume (1988).
— Yazaki Hiroyuki

Pronunciation in Japanese/用語音声

No movie/映像なし