Encyclopedia of Shinto

詳細表示 (Complete Article)

カテゴリー1: 3. Institutions and Administrative Practices
カテゴリー2: Modern and Contemporary
A pre-war shrine rank comprised of prefectural shrines (kensha) and municipal district shrines (fusha). In the modern shrine ranking system established in 1871, shrines were divided into kansha (state shrines) and shosha (general shrines). Shrines in the fukensha category occupied the highest rank among the shosha and were formally venerated by prefectures and municipal districts. Shrines of this rank include not only those in the three municipal districts (Tokyo, Kyoto, and Osaka) and all prefectures but also shrines in Hokkaido, Karafuto, and Taiwan. In the Council of State (Dajōkan) edict issued in the fifth month of 1871, which set out state contributions to shrines and regulations for priests, there is reference to domain shrines alongside prefectural and municipal ones, but the abolition of the domains in the seventh month of that year meant that the rank of domain shrine was never applied. At the end of the Second World War, in 1945, there were one thousand one hundred forty-eight shrines accorded the rank of prefectural or municipal district shrine.
See The Modern Shrine Ranking System
— Inoue Nobutaka

Pronunciation in Japanese/用語音声

No movie/映像なし