Encyclopedia of Shinto

詳細表示 (Complete Article)

カテゴリー1: 3. Institutions and Administrative Practices
カテゴリー2: Modern and Contemporary
Rural District Shrines. A shrine rank instituted in the modern shrine ranking system. The modern shrine ranking system was divided into the two general categories of kansha (state shrines) and shosha (assorted shrines). Gōsha were included in the latter category below the municipal and prefectural shrines and above village shrines (sonsha). Shrines dedicated to local tutelary deities (ubusunasha) in a given place were nominated as gōsha. Under the 1871 gōsha regulations (gōsha teisoku), each district was allocated its own gōsha. In a district with multiple shrines venerating different tutelary deities, the most popular of them was designated gōsha. From 1922, municipal districts and prefectures funded offerings to gōsha on the occasions of the Kinensai and Niinamesai rites, and also for the shrine's own annual festival (reisai). At the end of the Second World War, the rank of gōsha disappeared with the abolition of the shrine ranking system.
— Inoue Nobutaka

Pronunciation in Japanese/用語音声

No movie/映像なし