Encyclopedia of Shinto

詳細表示 (Complete Article)

カテゴリー1: 4. Jinja (Shrines)
カテゴリー2: Shrine Architecture
Beppyō jinja
Literally, "shrines on the exceptional list." A classification given to certain shrines by the Association of Shinto Shrines (Jinja Honchō) in consideration of the shrine's pedigree or activities. In accordance with Article 5 of the Association's Regulations for Promotion and Removal of Officers, a beppyō jinja is "a shrine to be listed on the exceptional list." Promotions and removals of the chief priests (gūji) and associate chief priests (gongūji) of beppyō jinja are not determined by the director of the local prefectural Shrine Association (Jinjachō). According to Article 13 of the same Regulations, the gūji and gongūji of a beppyō jinja must possess the clerical rank (see shinshoku kaii) of meikai or above, negi and acting gūji must possess the rank of seikai or above, and gonnegi must possess the rank of gonseikai or above.
These regulations were first implemented in 1948, and raised to the exceptional list only those shrines that had been originally ranked as nationally endowed shrines (kankokuheisha) under the prewar system. In 1951, however, a notice entitled "Regarding the Conditions for Selection of Shrines to be added to the Exceptional List" was issued, providing concrete standards for the selection of such shrines. The conditions specified in the notice include (1) shrine pedigree; (2) condition of shrine buildings and other religious facilities within the shrine precincts (keidaichi); (3) number of priests employed; (4) economic conditions within the past three years; (5) activities of the shrine; and (6) number and distribution of parishioners and general shrine devotees. By means of this, the number of shrines on the exceptional list gradually increased; as of 1993, the number was 347. It should be noted that the Grand Shrines of Ise are treated separately and not included on the exceptional list.
— Inoue Nobutaka

Pronunciation in Japanese/用語音声

No movie/映像なし