Basic Terms of Shinto 神道基本用語集

詳細表示 (Complete Article)

Text Refers to the three deities Izanagi no mikoto, Izanami no mikoto (see Izanagi no mikoto and Izanami no mikoto), and Kukurihime no kami, the goddess who arbitrated between Izanagi and Izanami when they quarreled at Yomotsuhirasaka.

These three deities are enshrined in the Shirayamahime Shrine in Ishikawa Prefecture and in its branch shrines, (called Hakusan shrines), located throughout Japan. Devotion to the Shirayamahime Shrine originates in mountain worship. Hakusan is the most famous mountain in the Hokuriku region.