Encyclopedia of Shinto

詳細表示 (Complete Article)

カテゴリー1: 7. Concepts and Doctrines
カテゴリー2: Basic Terms
Ichirei shikon
Literally, "one spirit, four souls." According to Shinto doctrine, the spirit (reikon) of both kami and human beings is made up of one spirit and four souls. The spirit is called naobi, and the four souls are the turbulent (aramitama), the tranquil (nigimitama), the propitious (sakimitama) and the wondrous, miraculous, or salubrious (kushimitama). Various theories exist to explain the nature of each of the four souls and the process of the historical development of the concept. The distinctive feature of the ichirei shikon theory, however, is that while each of the four souls has its own particular character and function, they exist in parallel, acting together in a complementary fashion.
See Reikonkan
— Yonei Teruyoshi

Pronunciation in Japanese/用語音声

No movie/映像なし